Ever had the urge to send a message to someone, but on a timed basis which results in the message self-destructing after a select period of time?
Nope, neither have we. However, we also don’t work in mission critical environments (like our good pal Tom Cruise) whereby information needs to be destroyed shortly after receipt.
Similar to SnapChat, WhatsApp will soon be introducing a new timed messages feature which allows you to set a lifespan for a message in personal conversation mode. Once the timer has lapsed, the message will be automatically deleted.
So here’s how it works – and how you can go full Mission Impossible on your friends and family.
When you open a person’s profile in WhatsApp, you will see a new option right above the “Encryption” prompt. Clicking on it opens a pop-up which lets you set a timer for automatic deletion. The options that are currently available range from 1 hour to 1 year.
Essentially, once it’s activated, a clock icon next to the read receipts will mark messages set for self-destruction.
Cool huh? Or kind of cool but also kind of pointless? You decide and let us know in the comments!